Institutions>The Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts (IGNCA)

The Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts (IGNCA) was established in 1987 as an autonomous institution under the Ministry of Culture, as a centre for research, academic pursuit and dissemination in the field of the arts. The Arts' encompass a wide range of subjects - from archaeology and anthropology to the visual and performing arts, enveloping them in a complementary and non-demarcated vision. In its functioning, the IGNCA has met its mandate and continues to work in this direction.

The IGNCA has six functional units – Kala Nidhi, the multi-form library; Kala Kosa, devoted mainly to the study and publication of fundamental texts in Indian languages; Janapada Sampada, engaged in lifestyle studies; Kaladarsana, the executive unit which transforms researches and studies emanating from the IGNCA into visible forms through exhibitions; Cultural Informatics Lab, which applies technology tools for cultural preservation and propagation; and Sutradhara, the administrative section that acts as a spine supporting and coordinating all the activities.

The IGNCA has three Regional Centres in India

  • The IGNCA has a Southern Regional Centre (SRC) headquartered in Bangaluru. Its establishment in 2001 was aimed at intensifying the Centre's studies on the southern region's art and cultural heritage.
  • The Centre's office in Varanasi is an extension of the kalakosa Division. This office gives academic input and support of Indological and Sanskrit studies of Kalakosa.
  • The field centre of the IGNCA for the North East is based in Guwahati. Its main task is to collaborate in programmes relating to the culture-rich communities in the north eastern region.

Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts
1, C. V. Mess, Janpath,
New Delhi - 110 001 (India)


Contributed by Aditya, CEE Ahmedabad.

blog comments powered by Disqus